Health Promotion Working Group


The Health Promotion Working Group (HPWG), formed in December 2019, is charged with coordinating efforts that help students stay well at MIT. Its members include staff from across the Institute who work in direct support, education and prevention, and academic teaching and learning. More information about the group’s charge and membership can be found below.


The cornerstone of an MIT education is our commitment to hands-on learning, both inside and outside the classroom. Fundamental to that commitment is the health and wellbeing of our students. We envision a culture that allows all students to flourish holistically—both intellectually and personally—in an environment where academic rigor and personal wellbeing are valued equally. We want to make MIT known for its culture of wellbeing and respect.

MIT has made significant progress in recent years to enhance our support services. To take the next step in creating a culture of wellbeing, we need to ensure that our health and wellbeing initiatives across the Institute are collaborative, coordinated, and clearly defined. On behalf of the Chancellor, the Health Promotion Working Group is charged with bringing together health promotion experts on campus and developing a cohesive plan for wellbeing efforts on campus. Specifically, the group will:

  • Develop a shared language around health and wellbeing that includes identifying and defining key terms.
  • Inventory all wellbeing related programs on campus, including initiatives taking place in academic departments, that advance students’ development of mind, body, relationships, and purpose.
  • Identify opportunities to promote health and wellbeing across campus, including in academic departments.
  • Research promising practices and health promotion models at peer institutions.
  • Provide specific recommendations on ways to coordinate and execute health promotion efforts across campus.


To help with the ongoing and strategic coordination of support and wellbeing efforts, six teams ("workstreams") were created to help advance our multi-pronged approach:

  • Training and Education
  • Peer to Peer Efforts
  • Marketing and Communications
  • Data and Assessment
  • Influencing the Academic Environment
  • Physical Spaces
  • Membership

    • Erica Aguiar, Student Financial Services
    • Lourdes Alemán, Teaching and Learning Lab
    • Suraiya Baluch, OGE GradSupport
    • Kester Barrow, CARE Team
    • Zan Barry, Community Wellness
    • Danny Becker, Student Mental Health and Counseling Services
    • Ike Brochu, Disability and Access Services
    • Kiley Clapper, Civil and Environmental Engineering
    • Grace Conte-Bennett, Office of Student Wellbeing
    • Nia DeYounge, Sloan School of Management
    • Jimmy Doan, Office of Student Wellbeing (co-chair)
    • Nelson Feliciano, Graduate Residential Life
    • Ray Feller, Student Support Services
    • Kat Howell, Residential Education
    • Sarah Johnson, DAPER Physical Education & Wellness (co-chair)
    • Megan Jordan, MindHandHeart
    • Thea Keith-Lucas, Office of Religious, Spiritual and Ethical Life
    • Caitlyn McCourt, Community Wellness (co-chair)
    • Cheryl Mottley, Office of Multicultural Education
    • Simi Ogunsanwo, Institute Discrimination & Harassment Response
    • Rose Poyau, Violence Prevention & Response
    • Robyn Priest, Alcohol and Other Drug Services
    • Akunna Rosser, Career Advising and Professional Development
    • Stephanie Smith, DAPER Recreation
    • Kyla Tucker, Office of Student Wellbeing