Dates & Deadlines

Undergraduate Residents


2021-2022 Housing Processes 


Please visit the Fall 2021 Housing Dashboard for helpful information and regular updates or reach out to the HRS team via email at residence@mit.edu or by telephone at (617) 253-2811.

  • Tuesday, March 30, 2021

    • Required Fall 2021 Undergraduate Housing Intent & Preference Form opens

    • Fall 2021 Sophomore Housing Lottery Application opens

    • Fall housing Building Switch Lottery Application opens

  • Friday, April 9, 2021 at 11:59 pm ET

    • Fall 2021 Sophomore Housing Lottery Application closes

    • Required Fall 2021 Undergraduate Housing Intent & Preference Form closes 

    • Fall housing Building Switch Lottery Application closes

  • Friday, April 23, 2021

    • Fall housing switch lottery results shared with students (building assignment only)

  • Monday, April 26, 2021

    • Rising sophomores granted access to change and re-submit their housing preferences.

  • Wednesday, May 12, 2021

    • Deadline for rising sophomores to change housing preferences.

  • Friday, May 21, 2021

    • Fall 2021 room assignments shared with rising juniors and seniors

  • Sunday, May 23, 2021

    • First-Year Housing Applications Open

  • Wednesday, June 7, 2021

    • Rising sophomore building results released

  • Sunday, June 13, 2021

    • First-Year Housing Applications Close

  • Friday, June 18, 2021 at 9:00 am ET

    • Virtual Sophomore Year Residence Exchange "SYRE" application opens in MyHousing

  • Monday, June 21, 2021 at 11:59 pm ET 

    • Penalty-free cancellation deadline for 2021-2022 on-campus housing

  • Wednesday, June 23, 2021 at 11:59 pm ET

    • Virtual Sophomore Year Residence Exchange "SYRE" application closes in MyHousing

  • Friday, June 25, 2021

    • Building assignments shared with first-years

  • Wednesday, August 4, 2021

    • 2021-2022 room assignments shared with first-years & rising sophomores

  • Tuesday, August 24, 2021

    • Pre-Orientation Programs (FPOPs) move-in 

  • Saturday, August 28, 2021 

    • First-year move-in

  • Sunday, August 29, 2021 - Monday, August 30, 2021

    • Move-in for ​sophomores who opt into REX programming (additional information forthcoming) 

  • Saturday, September 4 - Monday, September 6, 2021

    • Move-in for juniors and seniors, as well as sophomores who do not opt into REX programming