The MIT RISE Awards

2019 MAB

The RISE AWARDS - Recognizing Indviduals Supporting Equity - is an opportunity to celebrate MIT faculty, staff and students on their work with diversity, inculsion and social justice and off campus. MIT community members nominate their peers and colleagues for these awards. The RISE AWARDS is a collaboration sponsored by OMP, OGE, OME, and ICEO. The 2020-2021 RISE Awards nomination process is now open! Nominate an MIT community member (faculty, staff, and students) for the 2021 RISE Awards taking place on Tuesday, May 4th at noon ET! Registration information will be availalbe soon.

Click here for a description of all the awards.

2021 Committee Members

RISE Awards planning committee:

Chair: Nina DeAgrela, Assistant Dean of Intercultural Engagement for Multicultural Programs
Maria Cervantes Gonzalez, Administrative Assistant, Office of Graduate Education

Ayşe Guvenilir, Graduate Student, MIT Media Lab, & Graduate Community Fellow, ICEO
Harpreet Singh, Program Coordinator for Professional Development, Office of Minority Education
Taylor Pons, Staff Associate, Advisor, First Generation Program, Office of the First Year
Nina Foushee, SPXCE GA
Sidney Irias, SPXCE GA
Maihnia Lee, SPXCE GA
Imani Price, SPXCE GA

RISE Awards Selection Committee:

Co-Chair: Lauryn McNair, Assistant Director of Intercultural Engagement for LBGTQ+ Services
Co-Chair: Alma Jam, Assistant Director of Intercultural Engagement for Multicultual Programs

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 RISE Awards winners!

Staff Award for Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion | Beatriz Cantada

Faculty Ambassador Award | Tina Opie

Engineering Community Award | Class Awareness Support and Equality (C.A.S.E)

Excellence in Programming Award | African Students Association (ASA) - Culture Night, 2019

Organization of the Year | Black Women’s Alliance (BWA)

Emerging Leader Award
Undergraduate: Deekshita Kacham
Graduate: Bianca Lepe, 2nd Year Grad Student

Mens et Manus Award
Undergraduate: Jessica Quaye, 2020
Graduate: Josue Lopez, 6th year Course 6 PhD

Unsung Hero Award
Undergraduate: Mimi Wahid 
Graduate: Pedro Reynolds-Cuéllar

Dr. Robbin Chapman Excellence through Adversity Award
Undergraduate: Jeba Sania
Graduate: Francesca Vaccaro

John S.W. Kellett '47 Award
Graduate: Sam E. Turton

Community Excellece Awards | Office of Multicultural Programs
Staff: DiOnetta Crayton
Student: Danielle Geathers

LBGTQ+ Pride Awards | LBGTQ+ Serivces
Staff: Erin Erhart
Student: Maya C Lathi

2019 Multicultural Awards Banquet Winners

  • Emerging Leader Award: Aiyah Josiah-Faeduwor

  • Engineering and Community Award: Black Graduate Students Association

  • Excellence in Programming Award: Sloan Africa Business Club   

  • Dr. Robbin Chapman Award: Ifueko Igbinedion

  • Staff Award for Excellence Award: Andrés Felipe Salazar Gómez

  • Faculty Ambassador Award: Danielle Wood

  • Mens et Manus Award: Undergrad - Bruke Kifle, Grad - Supratim Das

  • Organization of the Year Award: Undergrad - African Student Association, Grad - MIT Colombian Association

  • Unsung Hero Award: Undergrad - Samira Okudo, Grad - Randi Williams

Additionally, the Office of Multicultural Programs awarded the following individuals for their connection to the OMPs mission, vision and values and for contributions to community at large.

  • Office of Multicultural Programs Community Excellence Student Award: Jennifer Madiedo

  • Office of Multicultural Programs Community Excellence Staff Award: Joseph Granado

  • Office of Multicultural Programs Contribution Award: Alyce Johnson

Click here to see photos from the 2019 Multicultural Awards Banquet